Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 101 - 125 of 278

Gil and Connie Granger papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00038
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1980s-2000s, of Gil and Connie Granger of Williamsburg, Virginia. Gil Granger was mayor of Williamsburg from 1996 to 1998. The papers primarily deal with local political issues in Williamsburg and Yorktown, including land development, the visits of foreign dignitaries, and the Williamsburg Regional Library. Mss. Acc. 2012.321 primarily concerns Gil Granger's term as mayor of Williamsburg as well as the operations of Virginia Broadcasters, an organization run by Gil...
Dates: 1944-2022
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Goodbar Deed

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.314
Scope and Contents

Deed between Elsie and J. Parish Goodbar, late of Westerville, State of Ohio and Mrs. Flora E. Rogers for property on Prince George Street in Williamsburg, Virginia, April 4, 1907.

Dates: 1907
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Goodrich Durfey Estate Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01063
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a ledger of accounts for the Goodrich Durfey Estate, located in Williamsburg, Virginia. The estate sold flour, corn, feed, livestock, and other supplies to the Williasmburg community. Some of the accounts listed include the Eastern State Asylum, President of William & Mary Benjamin S. Ewell, John Dix, Robert Saunders, John M. Galt, and Richard M. Bucktrout.

Dates: 1859-1870
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Kenneth Graham Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.25
Scope and Contents

Collection of items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia and the personal papers of J. Kenneth Graham, particularly genealogy of his ancestor, James Graham of Pennsylvania.

Dates: 1934-1986; Majority of material found in 1975-1985
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mollie M. Graves Letters (Photostats)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01249
Scope and Contents

Photostatic copies (likely made circa 1965-1970) of letters written to Mollie M. Graves in Charles City Courthouse, who recently left Williamsburg, Virginia, from friends and relatives who reside in Williamsburg.  The letters are addressed in care of Robert W. Graves.

Signatures of letter writers include E.B. Bowman, Martha  and Cousin Sallie.  4 letters.

Dates: circa 1965-1970
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Green Spring Garden Club, Inc., records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00398
Scope and Contents

Annual scrapbooks, garden and home tour brochures and schedules, membership lists, slides and business records documenting the Green Spring Garden Club, Inc., located in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1956-2022
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Channing M. Hall III Williamsburg, Virginia Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1999.19a and Additions
Scope and Contents

The collection includes personal as well as offical papers of Channing M. Hall III of Williamsburg. Hall was a member of the Williamsburg City Council and most of the collection concerns the government of the Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1996-2004
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Channing Moore Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.66, 2005.16
Scope and Contents

Professional and personal papers of Channing Moore Hall (1890-1953) attorney and mayor of Williamsburg. A box and folder list for accession 1992.66 of the collection is available in the Special Collections Research Center. A description of accession 2005.16 is available below in the finding aid/inventory.

Dates: 1920-1953; Majority of material found in 1930-1953
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates: 1810-2007 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Harriette Vaden Price papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00367
Content Description

Photographs, letters, and clippings related to Harriette Vaden Price, resident of Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1913-1971
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Martha W. Harrison Letter to Thomas Randolph

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00669
Scope and Contents

Letter written by Martha Harrison to Thomas Randolph about dances and jubilees, dated May 15, 1807.  19.5 cm x 23 cm.  Transcript included.

Martha Harrison may be Martha Wayles Skipwith Harrison who was married to Edmund Harrison and lived in "Genito" in Amelia County, Virginia.  The festivities may be part of the 1807 Jamestown celebrations.

Dates: 1807 May 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Maximilian Hartman Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.79
Scope and Contents Two diaries written by Civil War soldier Maximilian Hartman are included as well as a transcription of their contents.  The first diary begins in September of 1861 and continues until February, 1862.  The second diary continues from February, 1862 and ends in May of that same year.  The diaries delineate the travels and military actions of the 93rd Regiment from Pennsylvania as it passes through Baltimore, Washington, D.C., and Virginia.  Of local interest are the descriptions of events in...
Dates: 1861-1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia B. Haughwout Papers

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.17
Scope and Contents Correspondence and legal papers, 1951-1955, of Mrs. Virginia B. Haughwout of Williamsburg, Virginia, about the construction of a "Virginia Gazette" building on her property on the Duke of Gloucester Street. Correspondence is chiefly with her lawyer Robert T. Armistead and Kenneth Chorley, President of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Includes memorandum of argument on behalf of Colonial Williamsburg, Inc., prepared by the firm of Hunton, Williams, Gay, Moore and Powell, 6 June 1955,...
Dates: 1951-1955
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Helen Jones Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 C15
Scope and Contents Papers; 1936-1973; of author and Yorktown, Va. resident Helen J. Campbell (1894-1979). Includes photographs, notes, correspondence, clippings, photostats, and manuscript versions of short stories, essays, articles, and books. Her papers concern Yorktown and York County, Va., such as Yorktown National Park, Coleman Bridge, Bruton Parish, the Syms & Eaton School, and other local interest topics. Material also relates to Abraham Lincoln's assassination surrounding Mary E. J. Surratt, John...
Dates: 1936-1973
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Christine Henderson Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00610
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook of Christine Henderson, class of 1924, Williamsburg High School. Memorabilia includes original photographs.

Dates: 1920-1924
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Turner Henley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H39
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters, 1916-1921, received by John Turner Henley, while a student at the College of William and Mary and the University of Virginia Law School. The letters are from female and male friends from Williamsburg, The College of William and Mary, and The University of Virginia.  They write about their studies, student life, fraternity activities, work, and social life.  Other correspondents include Turner Henley's father, Novell L. Henley, Virginia Congressman and Williamsburg, Virginia...
Dates: 1857-1921; Majority of material found in 1918-1921
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00935
Scope and Contents 2002.59 This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine. 160 p. ; 35 cm. x 21 cm. 2005.19 Leonard Henley artifacts. Civil War artifacts of Dr. Leonard Henley, of Williamsburg, including candle, shoulder strap, $5 Confederate bill, minie ball, Tredegar Iron Works...
Dates: 1872-1873
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry Alexander Scandrett Civil War Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00144
Scope and Contents Civil War diary of Henry Alexander Scandrett dated 1862. The front of the diary has the entry from January 7, 1862 written through Thursday, January 9, "Monday 5th of May. Was in my first battle today. About 1 o'clock PM our regiment was marched into the field.  We were thrown in advance and through some blunder was not reinforced.  We have lost all our company officers and our field officers are all wounded.  With fifteen others I was taken prisoner and am now in William and Mary College." ...
Dates: 1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry C. Hoar Memorial Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01283
Scope and Contents Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as...
Dates: 1861-1886
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry T. Douglas Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00355
Scope and Contents

A letter from Henry T. Douglas to Donald W. Davis, American Legion of Williamsburg, Virginia, describes his military experience in the Civil War as an engineer, particularly in Yorktown, Williamsburg, and other parts of Virginia.

Dates: 1938 November 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Herman Recht Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.31
Scope and Contents This collection is comprised of more than 700 letters written by Herman Recht (1908-1971), a Navy yeoman, from Camp Peary (U.S. Naval Construction Training Center), near Williamsburg, Virginia, between October 1943 and February 1946, to his wife, Esther, in Clairton, Pennsylvania. There are no letters from Esther because, as he wrote her, saving them would make him homesick.Recht had been a lawyer for eight and a half years before joining the Navy. He was very well read, and...
Dates: 1943-1946
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Historical Pageant of Colonial Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Inc. Records

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00624
Scope and Contents

Plans, correspondence, pictures of a proposed historical pageant planned by the "Historical Pageant of Colonial Jamestown, Williamsburg and Yorktown, Inc." in 1939.  The pageant never happened.  Correspondence with Clark Robinson of New York, President  General of the SAR, and others.  Includes prospectus which explains the object of the pageant.  Pageant script called "Symphonic, Out-door Play, Depicting the Colonial Days of Jamestown and Yorktown, Virginia" by John C. Temple.  Copies.

Dates: 1939
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert Hoakerly Letter to George Eddie

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00529
Scope and Contents

Letter from Robert Hoakerly, New York, to George Eddie, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, asking Eddie to negotiate a draft on Col. Finnie of Williamsburg, Va. and protest a bill of [Mr.] Drewed, who was in Yorktown with the British troops and now keeps a tavern in Williamsburg.  March 29, 1782.

Dates: 1782 March 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Caroline Homassel Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H75
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, 1796-1811, of Mrs. Caroline Homassel of Williamsburg, Va. to family and friends with comments on Williamsburg.

Dates: 1796-1811
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 143
Correspondence 101
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 80
Photographs 71
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 38
∨ more
Financial records 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 33
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 33
Account books 31
Legal documents 28
Programs 28
Scrapbooks 28
Minutes 27
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 26
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 24
Diaries 22
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 22
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 20
Reports 20
Letters (correspondence) 19
Clippings (information artifacts) 18
Printed ephemera 18
Pamphlets 17
Newspapers 16
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 15
Certificates 13
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 12
Ledgers (Accounting) 12
Receipts (financial records) 12
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 11
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 11
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 11
Notebooks 11
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 11
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 10
Fliers (printed matter) 10
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 10
Manuscripts (document genre) 10
World War, 1939-1945 10
Invitations 9
Photocopies 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 9
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 9
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 8
Genealogy 8
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Poems 8
Publications 8
Speeches 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 8
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Business records 7
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 7
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 7
Jamestown Festival (1957) 7
Maps 7
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 7
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 7
Agendas (administrative records) 6
Broadsides 6
Deeds 6
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 6
Slides (photographs) 6
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--21st century 6
Women--Education--Virginia 6
World War, 1914-1918 6
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 5
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 5
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
College of William and Mary--Students 5
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 5
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Newsletters 5
Obituaries 5
Postcards 5
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 5
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 5
Speeches, addresses, etc. 5
Typescripts 5
United States--History--War of 1812 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 5
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 5
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Audiocassettes 4
Christmas cards 4
College of William and Mary--Presidents 4
Deeds--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Journals (accounts) 4
Mental illness--Treatment--History 4
Morticians 4
Negatives 4
Oral histories 4
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 275
French 3
German 2
English, Old (ca.450-1100) 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 59
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 21
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 18
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 17
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 10
∨ more
College of William and Mary. 7
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
Coleman family 5
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 5
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 5
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 5
Madison, James, 1749-1812 5
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 4
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 4
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 4
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 4
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Williamsburg Reunion (Va.) 4
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 3
Galt family 3
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 3
Kibler, James Luther, 1867-1953 3
Kimbrough, Janet C 3
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 3
Armistead Family 2
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 2
Boy Scouts of America 2
Bozarth family 2
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 2
College of William and Mary 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 2
Economic Development 2
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 2
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 2
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 2
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Geddy, Vernon M., Jr 2
Hall, Channing Moore, III 2
Jackson, Comer Clarke 2
Jamestown Corporation 2
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 2
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 2
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
McCandlish, Robert 2
Millington, Thomas Charles, fl. 1836-1850 2
Molineux, Will 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Oxrieder, Julia W. 2
Pedersen, Thelma 2
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 2
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 2
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 2
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 2
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 2
Seddon, James Alexander, 1815-1880 2
Sheldon, Jacob D. 2
Shiflett, Glenna Graves 2
Southall family 2
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
The Virginia Comedians 2
Tucker 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 2
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Female Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 2
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Post-War Planning Commission (Va.) 2
Woodbridge, Dudley Warner, 1896-1969 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
Alexandria gazette 1
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
American Studies Program 1
Anthony, James 1
Armistead, Cary Champion, d. 1944 1
Armistead, Dora Travis, 1890-1979 1
Armistead, Moss 1
Armistead, Rowland Cara 1
Army Nurse Corp 1
Arnold, Benedict, 1741-1801 1
Art Song of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less